Prof. Dr.-Ing.
Stefanos Fasoulas


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sabine Klinkner

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Alfred Krabbe

Prof. Fasoulas

Elisa Werler

Prof. Klinkner

Annegret Möller

Prof. Krabbe

Barbara Klett


Dr. Thomas Wegmann


Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme
Pfaffenwaldring 29
70569 Stuttgart

Tel. +49 711 685-69604
Fax +49 711 685-63596

Directly to



University of Stuttgart
Institute of Space Systems (IRS)
  in the Space Center
Baden-Wuerttemberg (RZBW)
Pfaffenwaldring 29
70569 Stuttgart
   Photo of the RZBW: Brigida González

On 26th of  October 2011 the Space Center Baden-Wuerttemberg (RZBW) was inaugurated. Since then the Institute of Space Systems (IRS) is located within the RZBW. This enlargement offers an adequate working environment to the growing number of now 170 employees. With new state-of-the-art labs in the RZBW the research activities could be enhanced. At present we offer a wide range of fascinating topics in the field of Space Technology and Astronautic Appliances combined with accompanying lectures, practical trainings and exercise seminars. 60 PhD-students work on these topics. 

Director of the Institute
Space Transportation Technology
Prof. Dr. Stefanos Fasoulas Elisa Werler
Deputy Director of the Institute
Space Systems and Applications
Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Roeser Annegret Moeller


Photo: Sebastian Berger

IRS management from left to right: Ralf Srama, Sabine Klinkner, Hans-Peter Röser, Stefan Schlechtriem, Ernst
Messerschmid, Stefanos Fasoulas, Jens Eickhoff, Alfred Krabbe, Volker Liebig, Georg Herdrich
IRS management: Professors and Associate Lecturers at the Institute of Space Systems (in alphabetic order)

Satellite System Technology and Operation
Honorary Prof. Dr. Jens Eickhoff

Space Transportation Technology
Prof. Dr. Stefanos Fasoulas

Space Relevant Plasmas
Dr. Georg Herdrich, Adjunct Associate Professor Baylor University

Satellite Technology
Prof. Dr. Sabine Klinkner

Airborne Astronomy and Extraterrestrial Spaceflight Missions
Prof. Dr. Alfred Krabbe

Earth Observation
Honorary Prof. Dr. Volker Liebig

Astronautics and Space Stations
Prof. Dr. Dr. e.h. Ernst Messerschmid

Space Systems and Applications
Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Roeser

Chemical Space Propulsion
Prof. Dr. Stefan Schlechtriem with DLR-Lampoldshausen

Space Physics
Dr. Ralf Srama, Adjunct Associate Professor Baylor University