Institutsleiter

Prof. Dr.-Ing.
Stefanos Fasoulas

Stellvertreter

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sabine Klinkner

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Alfred Krabbe

Sekretariat
Prof. Fasoulas

Larissa Schunter

Sekretariat
Prof. Klinkner

Annegret Möller

Sekretariat
Prof. Krabbe

Barbara Klett

Administration

Dr. Thomas Wegmann

 


Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme
Pfaffenwaldring 29
70569 Stuttgart

Tel. +49 711 685-69604
Fax +49 711 685-63596

Directly to

 

History

Information about the history of the Institute of Space Systems can be downloaded here:
History of  IRS starting in 1970 as PDF (German only)  

 

Institute of Space Systems (IRS), located in the Space Center Baden-Württemberg (RZBW)

 
Location: Campus Stuttgart-Vaihingen
Address: Pfaffenwaldring 29, 70569 Stuttgart

Main usable area: 1.998 m2
Inauguration: 26. October 2011
Staff: around 150, about 60 of whom are doctoral candidates
Unique test facilities: 5 Plasma wind tunnels, 8 engine test stands in 2 test halls and a cleanroom of the class ISO 8

 

The Space Center Baden-Wuerttemberg (RZBW), which was officially inaugurated on the 26th of October 2011 on the university campus at Pfaffenwaldring, almost looks as though it had come from another planet. The new, stunning, futuristic three-floor building is 60 meters long, boldly curved like a banana, and completely covered with a metal outer layer. It is the research home for over 150 of the University of Stuttgart’s researchers and engineers. Everything that happens inside the building revolves around space systems, the technology of space transportation, satellite instrument development, astronautics, airborne astronomy and space science. Research and development take place in close cooperation with other aerospace engineering institutes at the university and with international partners from the private sector and from other research institutions outside the university.

As a national forum for science, industry, and the public, the Space Center is meant to develop the transfer of technology and the exchange of ideas between the institutions involved. Furthermore, it offers optimal conditions for research, development, and science. “By launching the Space Center, the University of Stuttgart is becoming one of the biggest and most important European research and educational institutions in the field of space”, said Professor Wolfram Ressel, Rector of the University of Stuttgart, who was pleased with the IRS’s launch and predicted a “big future” for the institute in the field of space. “The center is a vital component for the research campus formed by IRS and the German Aerospace Center (DLR). This research campus is trend-setting for a strategic network between the university, the research institutions outside the university, the private sector, and society.” The aerospace engineering study program, which has been a part of the University of Stuttgart for over 40 years, has never experienced a decline in interest. At present, more than 2,000 students study at the 14 institutes of the faculty of Aerospace Engineering and Geodesy, and applications to study at the faculty always vastly outnumber the available spots.

The new structure, which was built over the span of two-years, offers excellent equipped laboratories, test stands, offices, event- and social zones on roughly 2,000 square meters of floor space. The new labs and clean rooms enable the production and usage of different instruments and space sensors according to the qualification directives of the European Space Agency (ESA) and meet industrial standards.

The building is occupied by the Institute of Space Systems (IRS) and the German SOFIA Institute (DSI). DSI helps operate SOFIA (Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy), which is the only flying observatory in the world. The national space forum serves not only research, development, and science, but also helps give the interested public a better understanding of the field of space. In the future, the center will have high quality exhibits and various events that give insight into the development of space engineering. Therefore, the spacious exhibition areas are an integral part of the building‘s design.

More information (in German): University building control department of Stuttgart and Hohenheim

Institutsleiter

Prof. Dr.-Ing.
Stefanos Fasoulas

Stellvertreter

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sabine Klinkner

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Alfred Krabbe

Sekretariat
Prof. Fasoulas

Larissa Schunter

Sekretariat
Prof. Klinkner

Annegret Möller

Sekretariat
Prof. Krabbe

Barbara Klett

Administration

Dr. Thomas Wegmann

 


Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme
Pfaffenwaldring 29
70569 Stuttgart

Tel. +49 711 685-69604
Fax +49 711 685-63596

Direkt zu

 

Geschichte

Informationen zur Geschichte des Instituts für Raumfahrtsysteme können Sie hier downloaden:
Geschichte des IRS ab 1970 als PDF

Das Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme (IRS) im Raumfahrtzentrum Baden-Württemberg (RZBW)


Standort: Campus Stuttgart-Vaihingen
Adresse: Pfaffenwaldring 29, 70569 Stuttgart

Hauptnutzfläche: 1.998 m2
Einweihung: 26. Oktober 2011
Mitarbeiter: rund 150, davon ca. 60 Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden
Einzigartige Versuchsanlagen: 5 Plasmawindkanäle, 8 Triebwerksteststände in 2 Versuchshallen sowie ein Reinraum der Klasse ISO 8 

 

Wie von einem anderen Stern präsentiert sich das Raumfahrtzentrum Baden-Württemberg (RZBW) auf dem Uni Campus am Pfaffenwaldring, das am 26. Oktober 2011 offiziell eröffnet wurde. Der futuristisch anmutende dreistöckige Neubau erstreckt sich über 60 Meter, ist schwungvoll gebogen wie eine Banane, komplett mit einer metallischen Außenhaut ummantelt und die Forschungsheimat für über 150 Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure der Uni Stuttgart. In seinem Innenleben dreht sich alles um Raumfahrtsysteme, Raumtransporttechnologie, Satelliteninstrumentenentwicklung, Astronautik, Flugzeugastronomie und Weltraumphysik - geforscht und entwickelt wird in enger Kooperation mit den anderen Uni-Instituten im Bereich der Luft- und Raumfahrt sowie internationalen Partnern aus Industrie, Wirtschaft und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen.

Als landesweites Forum für Wissenschaft, Industrie und Öffentlichkeit soll das Raumfahrtzentrum den Technologietransfer und Gedankenaustausch zwischen den beteiligten Institutionen weiter ausbauen und bietet beste Voraussetzungen für Forschung, Entwicklung und Lehre. „Mit der Eröffnung des Raumfahrtzentrums wird die Uni Stuttgart zur größten und wichtigsten universitären Forschungs- und Ausbildungsstätte Europas im Bereich der Raumfahrt“, freute sich Uni-Rektor Wolfram Ressel bei der Eröffnung und sagte der Raumfahrt eine „große Zukunft“ voraus. „Das Zentrum ist ein wichtiger Baustein für den gemeinsamen Forschungscampus mit dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), der wiederum richtungsweisend ist für ein strategisches Netzwerk zwischen Universität, außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft.“ Seit über 40 Jahren gehört die Luft- und Raumfahrt zur Uni Stuttgart, der gleichnamige Studiengang hat so gut wie nie Einbrüche erlebt. An den inzwischen 14 Instituten der Fakultät für Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik und Geodäsie studieren derzeit über 2.000 junge Menschen, und stets bewerben sich weit mehr, als aufgenommen werden können.

Der innerhalb von zwei Jahren erstellte Neubau wartet mit knapp 2.000 Quadratmetern Hauptnutzfläche auf, mit exzellent ausgestatteten Laborräumen, Testständen, Büros, Veranstaltungs- und Gemeinschaftszonen. Die neuen Labore und Reinräume erlauben die Fertigung und die Handhabung von Instrumenten und Raumfahrtsensoren nach den Qualifizierungsrichtlinien der Europäischen Weltraumbehörde ESA und erfüllen Industriestandards.

Nutzer des Gebäudes sind im Wesentlichen das Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme (IRS) sowie das Deutsche SOFIA Institut der - weltweit einzigen - fliegenden Sternwarte SOFIA (Stratosphären Observatorium für Infrarot Astronomie). Das landesweite Raumfahrtforum dient jedoch nicht nur Forschung, Entwicklung und Lehre, hier soll auch der interessierten Öffentlichkeit das Thema Raumfahrt nahe gebracht werden. In Zukunft werden dort hochwertige Exponate und vielfältige Veranstaltungen Einblick in die Entwicklung der Raumfahrt geben. Deshalb gehören zum Raumkonzept großzügige Ausstellungsflächen.
 
Weitere Informationen unter: Universitätsbauamt Stuttgart und Hohenheim